River Authority Announces New Board Leadership

Written by:

Posted on:




Get The Latest:

Join our print or digital newsletter to be informed about the agency’s many projects and other news.

Museum Reach of the San Antonio River

Last Updated on April 4, 2024

The San Antonio River Authority (River Authority) Board of Directors has sworn in two new at-large board members for Bexar County – Liza Gonzalez Barratachea and Patrice Melancon. Barratachea and Melancon were elected from a pool of five candidates in the November 2023 public elections.

“We are thrilled to start the new year off by welcoming Patrice and Liza to the Board of Directors,” said Jim Campbell, Chairman of the Board. “Their decades of experience, knowledge of the San Antonio River and dedication to Bexar County will contribute to the ongoing success of the River Authority.”

San Pedro Creek Culture Park at night
San Pedro Creek Culture Park

San Pedro Creek Culture Park in downtown San Antonio, Texas

The 12-member Board of Directors that governs the River Authority consists of two at-large members from each of Wilson, Karnes, and Goliad counties; two at-large members for Bexar County; and one member for each of four River Authority districts in Bexar County, for a total of six members representing Bexar County.

Patrice Melancon

A water resources engineer with a master’s degree from the University of Texas, Patrice Melancon served as the Engineering Department Manager at the San Antonio River Authority from 2016 to March 2019. In retirement, she remains active in consulting and community service, holding several positions, including Board President of the Alliance Francaise de San Antonio and participating in various organizations, including Rotary and the Daughters of the American Revolution.

Liza Gonzalez Barratachea, a San Antonio native and Texas A&M University graduate, brings over twenty years of advocacy experience in public policy. Her experience with governmental entities includes serving as an advisor and staff for elected officials at various levels of government.

In addition to the two at-large members, the Board of Directors confirmed a slate of new officers to serve on the Board Executive Committee:

Elections for the River Authority Board of Directors are held every two years. Head to our website for more information on San Antonio River Authority Board of Directors and Committees.

Related Articles


Acequia Trail Notice

The Acequia trail will have heavy traffic near MROC starting May 22nd until further notice. The SAWS Acequia project will be bringing in crews to work on the lift station site and across the street. There will have flaggers to stop traffic, please use caution. 

SASPAMCO Paddling Trail

The SASPAMCO paddling trail is open from River Crossing Park to Helton Nature Park.
*Please Note: Paddling Trail from Helton Nature Park to HWY 97 is still closed due to blockages. 

River Reach Newsletter and Blog Signup

River Reach is offered as a printed, physical mailing to your residence or business. The Blog is a weekly electronic email with news and updates in order to be more environmentally conscious. Please fill out the form below and indicate your preferred method of delivery.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing materials from: San Antonio River Authority, 100 East Guenther St., San Antonio, TX, 78204, US. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.