San Antonio River Authority Begins 2022 with New Leadership

Written by:

Posted on:




Get The Latest:

Join our print or digital newsletter to be informed about the agency’s many projects and other news.

SAN ANTONIO – The San Antonio River Authority Board of Directors approved a new slate of officers at their final meeting of 2021, which occurred on December 15th. The new officers who will serve on the Board’s Executive Committee include:

  • Chair: Jim Campbell, Bexar County District 4
  • Vice-Chair: Gaylon Oehlke, Karnes County At-large
  • Secretary: Deb Bolner Prost, Bexar County At-large
  • Treasurer: Alicia Cowley, Goliad County At-large
  • Executive Committee At-large: Dominic Carvajal, Wilson County At-large
  • Executive Committee At-large: Jerry G. Gonzales, Bexar County District 1

“It’s an honor to be selected by my board colleagues to serve as the Chair of the San Antonio River Authority,” said Jim Campbell. “The River Authority plays an essential role in the health and well-being of the communities it serves. While continuing our legacy of service, I look forward to exploring new and innovative ways the River Authority can more effectively accomplish its commitment to safe, clean, and enjoyable creeks and rivers.”

Beyond the officers of the Executive Committee, the following board members were elected to serve as committee chairs:

  • Operations: H.B. Ruckman III, Karnes County At-large
  • Fiscal: Alicia Cowley, Goliad County, At-large
  • Communications: Lourdes Galvan, Bexar County District 2

“I welcome the opportunity to work with Jim in his new capacity as Chairman,” said Derek Boese, River Authority General Manager. “The River Authority is nearing completion of several important projects and we are already looking ahead to future work on the horizon. Agency staff is committed to continuing the delivery of high-quality public service throughout the River Authority’s four-county district. The direction provided by the dedicated elected officials who serve on the Board of Directors is critical to our on-going success as an agency.”

In addition to electing a new slate of board officers at the December meeting, the Board of Directors also honored outgoing Chair, Darrell T. Brownlow, Ph.D., who resigned from the board, after ten years of service, to pursue other opportunities related to his geological and environmental consulting firm. It falls to Governor Abbott to appoint someone to fill the remaining time in Dr. Brownlow’s term as an elected official representing Wilson County At-large on the River Authority’s Board of Directors.

Related Articles


Acequia Trail Notice

The Acequia trail will have heavy traffic near MROC starting May 22nd until further notice. The SAWS Acequia project will be bringing in crews to work on the lift station site and across the street. There will have flaggers to stop traffic, please use caution. 

SASPAMCO Paddling Trail

The SASPAMCO paddling trail is open from River Crossing Park to Helton Nature Park.
*Please Note: Paddling Trail from Helton Nature Park to HWY 97 is still closed due to blockages. 

River Reach Newsletter and Blog Signup

River Reach is offered as a printed, physical mailing to your residence or business. The Blog is a weekly electronic email with news and updates in order to be more environmentally conscious. Please fill out the form below and indicate your preferred method of delivery.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing materials from: San Antonio River Authority, 100 East Guenther St., San Antonio, TX, 78204, US. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.