Oscar Gonzalez Judge's Best Category Winner - Bexar County

Board of Directors

Darrell T. Brownlow, Ph.D.
Darell Brownlow
Wilson County, Chairman of the Board, Fiscal Vice-Chair

Darrell T. Brownlow is a fifth generation South Texan, resident of Wilson County and landowner and rancher in LaSalle County. He is a 1982 graduate of Floresville High School and of Texas Tech University with a BS (1987), MS (1989) and PhD (1991), all in geology. Additionally, Brownlow has completed International Executive Management programs at Stanford Graduate School (Palo Alto, CA), Insead (Fountainblue, FR) and Egade Graduate School – Monterrey Tech (Monterrey, MX).

Currently, Darrell is a Principal in Carrizo Consulting LP through which he consults on construction material sourcing, development and other mining related issues both nationally and internationally. Additionally, he consults to various large energy firms and organizations as well as privately owned ranches on water supply and water management strategies related to a variety of groundwater related issues. Prior to this, he was Vice President and Chief Geologist for Cemex USA, responsible for Resource Management of Aggregate and Cement operations across the United States. He has authored and co-authored several technical articles and publications on subjects ranging from CO2 capture and sequestration in the cement industry to availability of Carrizo Aquifer water for Eagle Ford Shale development.

Darrell and his wife Brooke (an Executive for HEB Grocery Company) have two children, daughter Jordan (a 2013 graduate of Incarnate Word High School and 2017 graduate of Texas A&M University) and Dustin (a 2015 graduate of Central Catholic HS and will be a 2019 graduate of the University of Miami).

Prior to serving as a Director of the San Antonio River Authority, Brownlow was Governor Perry’s appointee to the Evergreen Underground Water Conservation District from 2000 to 2011.

  • Board member since: 2011

  • Current term expires: 2025

  • Committee memberships: Chairman of the Board, Fiscal Vice-Chair